• 4764
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • Help Ukraine

Frau, die stottert, entwickelt Karten, um sich selbst und anderen mit derselben Krankheit zu helfen

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2019-03-15 18:56

Über die Lösung

Kylah sollte diese Lösung schaffen, als sie nach einem Auslandsaufenthalt wegen ihrer Behinderung einige Schwierigkeiten hatte, die Zollbehörden der USA zu durchlaufen.

"Als ich durch den Atlanta International Airport kam, fragten sie mich, aus welchem Land ich käme. Und ich stotterte in Costa Rica. Weil es für mich immer schwer zu sagen war."

Danach wurde sie in ein anderes Zimmer geführt und stellte Fragen. Selbst nachdem sie ihren Zustand erklärt hatte, stellte das Zollpersonal ständig Fragen und erlaubte ihr nicht zu gehen. Als sie nervös wurde, wurde das Stottern immer schlimmer.

"Mein Herz raste", erklärt sie. "Ich war wirklich verwirrt, weil sie mir nicht sagten, was los war. Ich konnte nicht klar denken. Ich fühlte mich wie in einer Falle, denn egal wie sehr ich ihnen sagte, dass ich ein Sprachproblem habe, es fühlte sich einfach so an, als würde er es nicht tun will mir nicht glauben “, bemerkte der Student.

Das hat sie dazu gebracht, ihren Flug zu verpassen. Sie war verrückt darüber und auch, weil die Behörden sie beschuldigten, über eine Behinderung wie ihr Stottern gelogen zu haben.

Also entschied Kylah, dass sie etwas dagegen unternehmen musste.

Mit der Hilfe von Jane Fraser, der Präsidentin der Stuttering Foundation of America, begann sie an einem Projekt zu arbeiten, mit dem das Stottern dieser Situationen vermieden werden sollte.

Die Karte erklärt von vornherein: „Ich bin eine Person, die stottert. Hier ist das Stottern.

Die I Stutter Card ist kostenlos erhältlich und jeder kann sie ausdrucken und in ihre Brieftasche legen.

Angepasst von: https://bit.ly/2ud4RTS

Weitere Informationen: https://bit.ly/2Y0WN6A

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

DISCLAIMER: This story was written by someone who is not the author of the solution, therefore please be advised that, although it was written with the utmost respect for the innovation and the innovator, there can be some incorrect statements. If you find any errors please contact the patient Innovation team via info@patient-innovation.com

Über den Erfinder

Kylah Simmons, aus den USA, war ein Student der Psychologie und Medien, als sie 2016 die I Stutter Card entwickelte, eine Lernkarte, mit der sie ihren Zustand besser ausdrücken kann, während sie stottert, und andere mit derselben Behinderung.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 184
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Woman who stutters develops cards to help herself and others with the same condition

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2019-03-15 18:56

About the solution

Kylah was driven to create this solution when, after a study abroad trip in Costa Rica, she had some difficulties passing through the U.S. customs due to her disability.

"So when I was coming through the Atlanta International Airport, they asked me what country where I was coming from. And I stuttered on Costa Rica. Because it’s always been a hard thing for me to say."

After that, she was ushered into another room and was asked questions. Even after she explained her condition, the customs staff kept asking questions and didn’t allow her to go. As she was getting nervous, the stuttering was getting worse.

"My heart was racing," she explains. "I was really confused because they didn’t tell me what was happening. I couldn’t think straight. I felt like I was trapped because no matter how much I told them that I had a speech impediment, it just felt like he didn’t want to believe me”, the student observed.

This caused her to miss her flight. She was mad about it and also because the authorities accused her of lying about a disability like her stutter.

So Kylah decided she had to do something about it.

With the help of Jane Fraser, the president of the Stuttering Foundation of America, she started working on a project that would help stutters avoid these situations.

The card explains up front: “I am a person who stutters. Here is what stuttering is.

The I Stutter Card is available for free and anyone can print it and put it in their wallet.

Adapted from: https://bit.ly/2ud4RTS

More info: https://bit.ly/2Y0WN6A

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Kylah Simmons, from the USA, was a psychology and media college student when she developed, in 2016, the I Stutter Card, an educational card to help better express her condition, as she stutters, and others with the same disability.

Tags associated to this solution

Like solution
Close en
Close