• 1105
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Teenager erstellt Test zur Erkennung der Parkinson-Krankheit

Shared by JoanaSaraiva on 2019-07-30 12:20

Über die Lösung

Erin Smith, 19, war schon immer ein großer Fan von Michael Fox 'Filmen. Michael Fox ist der Beginn des Blockbusters „Back to the Future“. Bei ihm wurde im Alter von 29 Jahren Parkinson diagnostiziert.

Erin war 15, als sie den Schauspieler Michael Fox beobachtete und einen "Eureka" -Moment hatte. Sie bemerkte, dass sein Gesichtsausdruck keine Emotionen aufwies. Er hatte auch ein schiefes Lächeln und hochgezogene Augenbrauen. Als Erin auf Fox 'Arbeit zurückblickte, bemerkte sie auch, dass sich sein Gesichtsausdruck bereits verändert hatte, bevor er 1991 diagnostiziert wurde.

Dies inspirierte Erin, zu lernen, wie man von Grund auf neu programmiert, damit sie ein Computerprogramm erstellen konnte, das frühe Anzeichen der Krankheit erkennen konnte. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt entschied sie sich für FacePrint, eine Lösung, mit der die Krankheit 10 Jahre früher als üblich erkannt werden kann.

"Ich war schon immer ein großer Fan von" Back To The Future ". Nachdem ich die anfängliche Idee hatte, konnte ich alte Aufnahmen ansehen, um zu sehen, wann Michaels Gesichtsunterschiede auftraten. Und als ich in früheren medizinischen Artikeln nachgesehen habe, habe ich festgestellt, dass die Teile des Gehirns, die die frühesten Veränderungen bei Parkinson erfahren, die gleichen Teile sind, die an der Gesichtsausdrucksbildung beteiligt sind. “, Erklärte Erin.

"Eine frühere Erkennung würde nicht nur die Kontrolle über die Menschen ermöglichen, sondern könnte auch zur Entwicklung neuer und besserer Therapien führen.", Sagte Professor David Dexter von der Wohltätigkeitsorganisation Parkinson in Großbritannien.

Sie brauchte ein Jahr, um einen Prototyp der Lösung zu erstellen. Es verwendet Videomaterial, die gleiche Gesichtserkennungstechnologie, die auch zum Scannen von CCTV-Bildern nach Gesichtern bekannter Krimineller verwendet wird. Ihre Lösung ist jedoch in der Lage, die Erkennung von Parkinson-Anzeichen kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

Ihr FacePrint-Programm wurde von der Michael J. Fox Foundation für 2 Pilotstudien finanziert. Diese Studien zeigten, dass ihre Lösung eine Genauigkeit von 88% bei der Unterscheidung von Parkinson-Patienten von gesunden Personen aufwies.

Erin hat kürzlich ihre Erfindung auf einer Konferenz in London namens WIRED Health vorgestellt, die vom britischen Magazin WIRED geleitet wird.

Die Stanford University unterstützt jetzt einen Crowdsourcing-Versuch, um Erins Programm zu verfeinern.

Angepasst von: https://dailym.ai/2MoekCg

 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9YpnZVuptY

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

Über den Erfinder

Erin Smith aus Kansas hat FacePrint entwickelt, ein Computerprogramm, mit dem die Parkinson-Krankheit frühzeitig erkannt werden kann.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 2293
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2

Teenager creates software to help detect Parkinson's disease early

Shared by JoanaSaraiva on 2019-07-30 12:20

About the solution

Erin has always been a huge fan of Michael Fox's movies. Michael Fox is the star of the ‘Back to the Future’ films. He was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease at age 29.

Erin was 15 when she was watching the actor Michael Fox and had a ‘Eureka’ moment. She noticed that his expressions lacked emotions. He also had a droopy smile and upturned eyebrow. Looking back at Fox's work, Erin also noticed that his expressions had started to change even before he was diagnosed, in 1991.

This inspired Erin to learn how to code from scratch so she could create a computer program that would help spot early signs of the disease. That is when she decided to create FacePrint, a solution that helps detect the disease 10 years earlier than usual.

‘I have always been a big fan of ‘Back To The Future’. After having the initial idea, I was able to look at old footage to see when Michael’s facial differences occurred. And as I searched through past medical papers, I found that the parts of the brain that experience the earliest changes in Parkinson’s are the same parts involved in facial expression formation.’, Erin explained.

‘Earlier detection would not only enable people to take control but could lead to the development of new and better treatments.’ , Professor David Dexter of charity Parkinson’s UK said.

It took her one year to create a prototype of the solution. It uses video footage, the same facial recognition technology used to scan CCTV images for faces of known criminals. However, her solution is capable of continually improving at detecting signs of Parkinson’s.

Her FacePrint program received funding from the Michael J. Fox Foundation for two pilot studies. These studies showed her solution had a 88% accuracy at differentiating Parkinson’s disease sufferers from healthy individuals.

Erin has recently pitched her invention at a conference in London called WIRED Health and run by the UK magazine WIRED.

Stanford University is now backing a crowdsourcing trial to refine Erin’s programme.

Adapted from: https://dailym.ai/2MoekCg
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9YpnZVuptY

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Erin Smith, born in 2000, in the USA, created FacePrint, a computer program that helps the early detection of Parkinson's disease.

Comments (2)

  • WesTunrbull20 Thu, 01/07/2021 - 10:26

    I stopped the Parkinson's medications prescribed due to severe side effects and started on natural treatments from VineHealth Clinic (VHC) in California, the herbal treatment has made a tremendous difference for me. My symptoms including tremors and muscle weakness all disappeared after the months long treatment! Go to ww w. vinehealthclinic. c om. This treatment is simply amazing!  

  • Amy Grahams Thu, 01/28/2021 - 18:25

    After my PARKINSON DISEASE diagnosis, I started out taking only Azilect, then Mirapex and sinemet as the disease progressed but didn’t help much. In July last year, I started on PARKINSON DISEASE TREATMENT PROTOCOL from Mayaka Natural Clinic One month into the treatment, I made a significant recovery. After I completed the recommended treatment, almost all my symptoms were gone, great improvement with my movement and balance. Its been a year, life has been amazing (ww w. mayakanaturalclinic. c om).

Like solution
Close en
Close