• 1417
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • Help Ukraine

Health Access Corps, eine ugandische Non-Profit-Organisation zur Bekämpfung des fehlenden Zugangs zur Gesundheitsversorgung in nicht versorgten Gemeinden

Shared by Gemma Tria on 2023-04-04 14:28

Über die Lösung

Eines der größten Probleme für Einheimische in abgelegenen und ländlichen Gebieten Afrikas ist der Mangel an Transportmitteln und Logistik für den Transport von Kranken und Verletzten. Chris Ategeka, der in einem kleinen Dorf im Westen Ugandas geboren wurde, ist einer der vielen Zeugen dieses Problems, als er in jungen Jahren sah, wie seine Eltern an AIDS starben und auch sein Bruder, als er versuchte, ihn zum nächsten zu tragen Gesundheitszentrum.

Chris war von dieser Erfahrung völlig schockiert und bemerkte schon in jungen Jahren, dass der Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung in ländlichen Gemeinden ein ernsthaftes Hindernis darstellt. Wenn er an den Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung denkt, stellt er sich nicht nur vor, jemanden in ein Krankenhaus zu bringen oder ein mobiles Krankenhaus zu ihm zu bringen, sondern auch die Notwendigkeit, in medizinisches Fachpersonal zu investieren, um den sogenannten Braindrain zu bekämpfen. Wie Chris sagt: „Einerseits sieht man viele Menschen, die leiden und manchmal sterben, weil sie keinen Zugang zu ausgebildetem medizinischem Fachpersonal haben; Auf der anderen Seite sehen Sie eine große Anzahl ausgebildeter Fachkräfte, die ihre Länder verlassen und auf der Suche nach besseren Löhnen in fremde Länder aufbrechen.“

Health Access Corps, ehemals Rides for Lives, ist eine von Chris Ategeka gegründete gemeinnützige Organisation mit der Vision, eine Welt zu schaffen, in der jeder Mensch Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung hat. Sie stellen nicht nur in Uganda, sondern auch in Ostafrika Technologien für den Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung für gefährdete Bevölkerungsgruppen bereit.

Ihre charakteristischen Produkte sind The Mobile Hospital und The Village Ambulance, bei denen es sich um örtliche Motorradtaxis, bekannt als Boda-Bodas, handelte, die in mobile medizinische Kliniken umgewandelt wurden, die mit Sonnenkollektoren, einem Kühlschrank und medizinischer Ausrüstung ausgestattet waren. Diese mobilen Krankenhäuser können wichtige Gesundheitsleistungen erbringen, die sonst aufgrund schlechter Infrastruktur und unzureichender Gesundheitsressourcen nur schwer zugänglich wären. Der innovative Ansatz des Unternehmens zur Gesundheitsversorgung hat dazu beigetragen, die Gesundheitsergebnisse zu verbessern und Leben in unterversorgten Gemeinden zu retten.

Sie zielen darauf ab, eine skalierbare und nachhaltige Lösung für den fehlenden Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung zu schaffen, indem lokale Talente genutzt werden, wobei das Problem der Abwanderung von Fachkräften und die Bedeutung lokaler Autonomie betont werden.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oT1Sn9JCuw

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

DISCLAIMER: This story was written by someone who is not the author of the solution, therefore please be advised that, although it was written with the utmost respect for the innovation and the innovator, there can be some incorrect statements. If you find any errors please contact the patient Innovation team via info@patient-innovation.com

Über den Erfinder

Er ist Chris Ategeka, geboren 1984 in Uganda, Unternehmer, Ingenieur und Aktivist. Trotz aller Widrigkeiten war Ategeka in der Schule hervorragend und erhielt ein Stipendium für ein Ingenieurstudium an der University of California, Berkeley, wo er auch seinen Master in Maschinenbau erhielt. Er nutzte das erworbene Wissen in Kombination mit seiner Kindheitserfahrung, in Uganda in Armut aufzuwachsen, und gründete das Health Access Corps.

Ähnliche Themen

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 1557
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • Help Ukraine

Health Access Corps, an Ugandan non-profit organization to combat lack of healthcare access in unserved communities

Shared by Gemma Tria on 2023-04-04 14:28

About the solution

One of the biggest problems for locals in remote and rural areas of Africa is the lack of transportation and logistics for moving the sick and injured. Chris Ategeka, who was born in a small village in western Uganda, is one of the many witnesses to this problem, as at a young age he saw his parents die of AIDS and also his brother while he was trying to carry him to the nearest health center.

Chris was fully shocked by this experience, and noticed since very young that access to healthcare is a serious obstacle in rural communities. When he thinks about healthcare access he doesn’t only picture getting someone to a hospital or bringing a mobile hospital to them, but also the need for investment in healthcare professionals to fight the so called brain drain. As Chris says “On one hand you witness many people suffering and sometimes dying due to lack of access to trained health professionals; on the other hand you see a massive number of trained professionals leaving their countries headed for foreign lands in search for better wages.”

Health Access Corps, formerly Rides for Lives, is a non-profit organization founded by Chris Ategeka with a vision to create a world where every human being has access healthcare. They provide technologies for healthcare access to vulnerable populations not only in Uganda but in East Africa.

Their signature products are The Mobile Hospital and the Village Ambulance, which were local motorcycle taxis, known as boda-bodas, transformed into mobile medical clinics equipped with solar panels, a refrigerator, and medical equipment. These mobile hospitals can provide critical healthcare services that would otherwise be difficult to access due to poor infrastructure and inadequate healthcare resources. The company's innovative approach to healthcare delivery has helped to improve health outcomes and save lives in underserved communities.

They aim to create a scalable and sustainable solution to the lack of healthcare access utilizing local talent, emphasizing the problem of brain drain and the importance of local autonomy.

Adapted from:
https://healthaccesscorps.org/
https://www.thisisuganda.org/heard-about-bike-ambulances-they-are-reduci...
https://www.brightvibes.com/rides-for-lives-a-mobile-hospital-saving-liv...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oT1Sn9JCuw

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

DISCLAIMER: This story was written by someone who is not the author of the solution, therefore please be advised that, although it was written with the utmost respect for the innovation and the innovator, there can be some incorrect statements. If you find any errors please contact the patient Innovation team via info@patient-innovation.com

About the author

He is Chris Ategeka, born in Uganda in 1984, an entrepreneur, engineer and activist. Despite the odds against him Ategeka excelled in school and earned a scholarship to study engineering at University of California, Berkeley, where he also received his Masters in mechanical engineering. Using the knowledge he gained, in combination with his childhood experience of growing up in poverty in Uganda, he founded Health Access Corps.

Tags associated to this solution

Like solution
Close en
Close