• 1932
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Die erschwingliche 'Eye Tracking'-Technologie

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2017-03-15 12:36

Über die Lösung

Luis hatte immer schon Interesse an Spielprogrammierung und digitaler Technik. Ein querschnittsgelähmter Klassenkamerad war eine Inspirationquelle für Luis, und so begann er, sein Wissen und seine Fähigkeiten auf ein neues Gebiet auszubreiten.

„Durch den Kontakt mit meinem Freund und durch die Geschichten von Menschen in vergleichbaren Situationen, wurde mir klar, dass viele Behinderte aus Kostengründen keinen Zugang zu Technologien haben, die ihnen helfen könnten, Kommunikationsprobleme zu überwinden. Ich dachte, es sei eine gute Idee, dieses neue Projekt mit meinen älteren Projekten zu kombinieren. Ich konnte mir vorstellen, eines meiner Videospiele so zu gestalten, dass es mit Augenbewegungen gespielt werden kann", erklärt er.

Seine Innovation - das Eyeboard - ist eine Open Source Interface, die dem Benutzer die Möglichkeit bietet, mittels der Augen mit anderen Menschen zu kommunizieren und den Computer zu bedienen - Electrooculography genannt. Luis baute das System in eine Reihe von Brillen ein. Mit einem Preis von weniger als 300 Dollar ist Eyeboard damit auch für Benutzer in Entwicklungsländern erschwinglich.

Am Anfang seiner Suche nach bestehenden Systemen sah Luis schon, dass sie zu teuer waren.

„Mein Prototyp kann für etwa zweihundert Dollar gebaut werden, während ähnliche Systeme minimal zehntausend Dollar kosten", sagt er.

Luis startete eine ‚Kickstarter’-Kampagne, um das Projekt zu finanzieren.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.intelsath.com/eyeboard.php

Auszug aus: http://bit.ly/2msjBcd
http://kck.st/2nrXN16

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

Über den Erfinder

Der 1994 in Honduras geborene Luis Cruz lebt in den USA. Er entwickelte 2011 eine kostengünstige 'Eye Tracking'-Technologie - das Eyeboard.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 1293
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Affordable eye tracking technology

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2017-03-15 12:36

About the solution

Luis was always interested in game programming and digital electronics, and when he met a tetraplegic classmate, he got inspired to channel his knowledge and skills towards him.

“Meeting him, and hearing about some testimonies of people with similar illnesses, made me realize that a lot of people with disabilities don’t have access to technology that help them overcome communication problems just because those systems are way too expensive. I also thought that it would be a good way to combine this new project with my older projects, such as playing my video game system with the eyes”, he explained.

His innovation – the Eyeboard – consists of an open source Human-Computer Interface that provides the user the ability to communicate with other people and interact with a computer using just their eyes, using Electrooculography. Luis built the full system into a set of glasses for less than US$300, putting easier communication within reach of users in developing countries.

When the inventor started searching for existing solutions, he realized they were too expensive.

“Human-Computer Interface that would provide the user the ability to communicate with other people and interact with a computer using just their eyes. The prototype of the monitoring system of bioelectrical signals I developed, could be built with as little as two hundred US dollars, while other similar biomedical systems available could cost a minimum of ten thousand dollars”, he expressed.

Luis launched a Kickstarter campaign to help him fund the project.

More info: http://www.intelsath.com/eyeboard.php
http://kck.st/2nrXN16

Adapted from: http://bit.ly/2msjBcd
https://youtu.be/3vsgVPNIfk0

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Luis Cruz, born in Honduras, in 1994, lives in USA and invented an affordable eye tracking system for disabled people, the Eyeboard, in 2011.

Dislike solution
Close en
Close