• 3737
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

3D Printed Smart Schienen "

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2015-10-05 11:27

Über die Lösung

Douglas Wilson Sohn, James Wilson, 14, leidet unter Lennox-Gastaut-Syndrom. Es ist eine Form der Epilepsie, die ihn behinderte gelassen, und als Folge, muss er Orthesen Formen an den Füßen tragen, um ihm helfen zu gehen.

James 'Formen waren heiß, unbequem und teuer, und so seinem Vater, der Dozent und Leiter der Auckland University Verkehrstechnik-Gruppe beschlossen, neue Schienen erstellen.

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit einer pädiatrischen Neurologen Dr. Rakesh Patel, und Professor Xun Xu, Professor und Dozent für 3D-Druck, war Douglas in der Lage, intelligente Schienen, die billiger und komfortabel sind, zu entwickeln. Die Schienen helfen, neu auszurichten Füße eines Kindes und zu fördern leichter Bewegung. Seine Produktion kostet 50 US $.

Die Smart-Schienen werden durch die Schaffung von elektronischen Scans oder Verwendung von Fotografien der betroffenen Extremität vorgenommen, wird eine Form ausgedruckt, welche eine genaue Passform von der Digital Schiene darstellt, und die Schienen werden dann 3D gedruckt.

Wilson und Dr. Patel kam auf die Idee, im Jahr 2013, und sie als Beweise Konzept für Kinder mit Cerebralparese, Muskeldystrophie und anderen Behinderungen erstellt vier Prototypen.
"Mit Zerebralparese, die aufgrund ihrer neurologisches Problem ihre Füße gehen in ungeraden Formen, weil die Muskeln ziehen in verschiedene Richtungen", sagt Dr. Patel. "Es bedeutet, dass sie nicht richtig gehen, damit das, was wir versuchen zu tun, richtig ist die Lage. Es verbessert die Chancen des Gehens und bekommen sie aufrecht und mobiler. "

Laut Dr. Patel, können die Schienen verwendet werden, um Menschen mit Schlaganfall, Querschnittslähmung, Polio, multipler Sklerose, periphere Neuropathie, Arthritis und sogar vielleicht sogar Knochenbrüche zu helfen.

Diplom-Ingenieur Studenten klinischen Studien zu vollenden, und sie hoffen, Ergebnisse bald.

Http://3dprint.com/48197/smart-splints/: Adaptiert

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

Über den Erfinder

Douglas Wilson’s son, James Wilson, 14, suffers from Lennox-Gastaut syndrome. It’s a form of epilepsy which left him disabled, and as a result, he needs to wear orthotic molds on his feet to help him walk. Douglas is from New Zealand.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 1915
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Father creates 3D Printed ‘Smart Splints’ for his son

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2015-10-05 11:27

About the solution

James’ molds were hot, uncomfortable, and expensive, and so his father, who is a senior lecturer and the head of Auckland University’s transportation engineering group decided to create new splints.

By collaborating with a pediatric neurologist Dr. Rakesh Patel, and Professor Xun Xu, a professor and lecturer on 3D printing, Douglas was able to develop smart splints that are cheaper and more confortable. The splints help realign a child’s feet and promote easier movement. Its production costs $50.

The Smart Splints are made by creating electronic scans or using photographs of the affected limb, a mold is printed which represents an exact fit from the digital splint, and the splints are then 3D printed.

Wilson and Dr. Patel came up with the idea in 2013, and they created four prototypes as proofs of concept for children with cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy, and other disabilities.
“With cerebral palsy, because of their neurological problem their feet go in odd shapes because the muscles pull in different directions,” Dr. Patel says. “It means they can’t walk properly so what we try to do is correct the position. It improves the chances of walking and getting them upright and more mobile.”

According to Dr. Patel, the splints can be used to help people with stroke, spinal cord injury, polio, multiple sclerosis, peripheral neuropathy, arthritis, and even perhaps even broken bones.

Engineering graduate students will complete clinical trials, and they hope to have results soon.

Adapted from: http://3dprint.com/48197/smart-splints/

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Douglas Wilson’s son, James Wilson, 14, suffers from Lennox-Gastaut syndrome. It’s a form of epilepsy which left him disabled, and as a result, he needs to wear orthotic molds on his feet to help him walk. Douglas is from New Zealand.

Like solution
Close en
Close