患者创新平台 (Patient Innovation) 网站的部分内容已经被翻译成中文。 请点击 这里 查看。
  • 6990
  • 5
  • 3
  • 12

ExoVasc® - 个性化主动脉支持

GuilhermeM 于 2014-04-04 13:21 分享

About the solution

1992年,泰尔(Tal)参与了一项遗传学研究,发现与其他马凡氏综合症患者一样,他的升主动脉在每次血流后都无法恢复,并随着时间的推移而逐渐增生。

2000年,在定期检查期间,他被告知需要考虑进行预先性手术。然而,传统手术是漫长而复杂的,因为它采用人造移植物代替升主动脉。另外,为了防止在更换的血管上形成血栓,患者必须在终生服用抗凝血药物。塔尔不喜欢手术后他未来的生活状态,因此他开始考虑替代品。

作为一名工艺工程师,他将自己扩大的主动脉与管道问题进行了比较,因此,他认为自己必须创造出像绝缘胶带一样的,可以缠绕在主动脉外面的支持结构。这是在软管膨胀时通常采用的处理方法。他与医生一道,设计了许多CAD模型,并开发了最终的原型,即ExoVasc®。

2004年,该装置在两小时手术期间被放置于Tal体内。

“建立技术和商业团队,筹集资金,开展项目并自愿成为第一个病人并不是那么容易,特别是当我知道项目的结果可能对我未来的健康产生深远的影响时“,他解释说。

ExoVasc®个性化外部主动脉根支持是一种定制的外部支持,与患者的主动脉完全匹配。它放置在升主动脉周围,并保持完好。由于血管和瓣膜保持完好,手术能够更直接地进行,并且不需要患者服用抗凝药物。

这个工程师通过他的公司 - Exstent来销售这款产品。

Tal于2015年获得患者创新奖。

摘自Exstent Ltd,网址为:http://www.exstent.com/exovasc.html
https://youtu.be/MvFYaV-cUmY

这些解决方案不应包括使用药物,化学品或生物制品(包括食品);创伤性设备;冒犯性的,商业或内在危险的内容。该解决方案未经医学验证。请谨慎进行!如果您有任何疑问,请咨询健康专家。

关于发明者

泰尔(Tal Golesworthy),1956年出生于英国,是一名被诊断为马凡综合症的工程师。 他开发了ExoVasc,他自己的个性化外部主动脉根支持,以防止主动脉破裂。

评论 (12)

喜欢该发明
Close zh
Close

This solution has been translated to Chinese. Check it here.
  • 2922
  • 0

ExoVasc® - Personalized aortic suport

Shared by GuilhermeM on 2014-04-04 13:21

About the solution

In 1992, Tal entered a genetic study and found out that, as many other Marfan Syndrome patients, his ascending aorta was failing to recover after each blood-flow and was gradually enlarging over time.
In 2000, during a regular check-up, he was told to consider pre-emptive surgery. However, traditional surgery is lengthy and complex as it replaces the ascending aorta by an artificial graft. Also, to prevent blood clots forming on the replaced vessel, the patient has to take anticoagulant drugs for the rest of his/her life. Tal did not like the scenario for his future, so he started to think of alternatives.
Being a process engineer, he compared his enlarged aorta to a plumbing problem, so he thought that he had to create something that would act like an insulation tape, that could be wrapped around the outside of the a aorta. The same thing that everyone does when a hosepipe is bulging. After a lot of CAD models, together with his doctor, they developed the final prototype, the ExoVasc®. The device was placed on Tal during a two-hour surgery, in 2004.
“To build technical and commercial teams, raise the finance, run the project AND volunteer to be the first patient was not so easy, particularly as I was trying to operate as a rational project manager when I knew the outcome of the project could have such a profound impact on my future health”, he explained.

The ExoVasc®, Personalised External Aortic Root Support, is a custom-made external support made to exactly match the patient’s aorta. This is placed around the ascending aorta, which remains intact. Since the vessel and the valve remain intact, the surgery is more straightforward and there is no need for the patient to take anticoagulant drugs.

The engineer comercializes this product through his company - Exstent.

Tal was awarded with the Patient Innovation award in 2015.

Adapted from Exstent Ltd at: http://www.exstent.com/exovasc.html
https://youtu.be/MvFYaV-cUmY

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Tal Golesworthy, born in 1956, in UK, is an engineer who was diagnosed with Marfan Syndrome. He developed ExoVasc, his own personalized external aortic root support, to prevent aorta rupture.

Like solution
Close en
Close