• 3964
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0

Ein Handschuh, der Zittern ausgleichen kann

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2016-06-08 18:05

Über die Lösung

Bei einer Parkinson-Patientin kam es zu starkem Gewichtsverlust und Faii beobachtete, dass starkes Zittern zu grossen Schwierigkeiten bei der Nahrungsaufnahme führen kann, einfach dadurch, dass zuviel Nahrung verschüttet wird.

Zwei Jahre später kam Faii mit einem Lösungsversuch - Gyroglove - eine kleines, leichtes Gerät, das auf den Handrücken passt und die zitternde Hand stabilisiert.

Die Technologie dieses Gerätes besteht aus Kreiselstabilisatoren, so wie sie auch in der ultramodernen Luft-und Raumfahrttechnik verwendet werden. Das Prinzip ist jedoch das gleiche, wie wir es bei den Kreiseln sehen, mit denen Kinder spielen. Aufgrund der Drehimpulserhaltung reagiert der Kreisel unmittelbar und proportional auf Lageveränderungen und gleicht diese aus.
Zudem wurden elastischen Bänder, Gewichte, Federn, Hydraulik und neuartige ‘Soft Robotics’ getestet. "Mechanische Kreisel versuchen durch die Drehimpulserhaltung immer, aufrecht zu bleiben. Meine Idee war, sie dazu zu verwenden, jegliches Zittern in der Hand auszugleichen und so die Hand zu stabilisieren.”, erklärt der Erfinder.

Das Gerät wurde an Patienten getestet, und die Ergebnisse sind vielversprechend.

Der Student kam 2014 mit GyroGlove ins Finale des OneStart, des weltweit größten Biotech-Wettbewerbs.

Das Produkt ist noch nicht im Handel erhältlich, der Preis wird voraussichtlich zwischen 550 bis 850 Dollar liegen.

Weitere Informationen: http://gyrogear.co/

Auszug aus: http://bit.ly/1Ys1lye
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f10-g8qzMug

Diese Lösung enthält keinen Hinweis weder auf die Verwendung von Arzneimitteln, Chemikalien oder biologische Stoffe (einschließlich Lebensmitteln) noch auf invasive Geräte, anstößige, kommerzielle oder inhärent gefährliche Inhalte. Diese Lösung wurde nicht medizinisch validiert. Vorsicht! Wenn Sie irgendwelche Zweifel haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen Arzt.

Über den Erfinder

Faii Ong, 1990 in Singapur geboren, ist Medizin Student. Er entwickelte GyroGlove, einen Handschuh, der Parkinson-Patienten hilft, Zittern zu kontrollieren und zu reduzieren. Faii wurde von einem 103-jährigen Parkinson-Patienten inspiriert, den er in einer Cafeteria beobachtete.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 2635
  • 0

Glove to help control tremors

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2016-06-08 18:05

About the solution

The patient was losing a lot of weight and the doctors didn’t know why. But when he saw her, he figured it out – She had a lot of difficulties feeding herself. “Her hand was shaking and the soup was being spilled”, the student explained.

Two years after this episode, Faii came up with a solution – Gyroglove - a small, lightweight stability device that fits on the back of the hand attached to a minimalist harness. It locks easily in place, and integrates intelligent functionality.

The technology behind this device consists of gyroscopes - Spinning discs used in cutting edge aerospace technology, but no different from children’s toy tops. Gyroscopes conserve angular momentum to stay upright in any plane of motion. These spinning discs thus counter any input of force instantaneously and proportionally.

After evaluating the use of elastic bands, weights, springs, hydraulics, and even soft robotics, the student settled on this solution, one that he recognized from childhood toys. “Mechanical gyroscopes are like spinning tops: they always try to stay upright by conserving angular momentum,” he said. “My idea was to use gyroscopes to instantaneously and proportionally resist a person’s hand movement, thereby dampening any tremors in the wearer’s hand.”

The device has been tested in patients, and the results are very encouraging.

The student founded his own company GyroGlove, and made it to the finals of OneStart, the world’s largest biotech business competition, in 2014.

The product has not been launched yet, but the price will be between $550 to $850.

More info: http://gyrogear.co/

Adapted from: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/545456/hope-in-a-glove-for-parkinsons...

What about you, do you have any solutions? Please share them with the Patient Innovation community!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f10-g8qzMug

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Faii Ong, born in Singapore, in 1990, is a Medicine Student who invented GyroGlove, a glove designed to help Parkinson’s disease patients to control and reduce their tremores. Faii was inspired by a 103 year old Parkinson’s patient that he saw at a cafeteria.

Like solution
Close en
Close