This solution has been translated to Chinese. Check it here.
  • 2000
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Die Rollstuhl-Kamera: Wie man Fotos und Filmaufnahmen machen kann, wenn man fast vollständig gelähmt ist

Shared by Giesbert Nijhuis on 2017-03-21 15:35

About the solution

Ich hatte gerade vier Jahre Fotografie studiert, als der Unfall im Dezember 1995 passierte und ich plötzlich querschnittsgelähmt war. Ich kann nur meinen Kopf und meine Schultern ein wenig bewegen. Kann ich so noch Fotograf sein? Das war eine von vielen Fragen. "Natürlich nicht", dachte ich erst, weil ich die Kamera nicht in meinen Händen halten und bedienen konnte. Und das war nur die Spitze des Eisbergs, denn Fotografie ist weit mehr als die Knöpfe einer Kamera bedienen zu können. Die meisten Dinge, die mit Fotografie zu tun haben, sind für mich unmöglich geworden, da meine Zeit und Energie sehr begrenzt und unberechenbar sind.
Aber anstatt sich auf das, was nicht möglich ist zu konzentrieren, ist es besser zu sehen, was wohl möglich ist!

Die ersten Jahre mit analoger Fotografie
Etwa zwei Jahre nach dem Unfall (1998) hatte ich gelernt, durch Kopfbewegungen mit Photoshop zu arbeiten. Und ich machte einige schöne Porträts mit Hilfe von Peep Papa. Aber jemanden anleiten, mit analoger Technik die Fotos zu machen, die man haben will, erwies sich als sehr frustrierend. Also gab ich es auf.

Die erste Jahre mit digitaler Fotografie
Anfang 2006 ergaben sich für mich durch die Umstellung auf digitale Fotografie neue Möglichkeiten. Meine erste Digitalkamera war die Sony DSC-R1, die einzige praktische Fotokamera für mich zu diesem Zeitpunkt: gute Bildqualität, ein Life-View-LCD-Monitor, den ich in meine Richtung drehen konnte und die Möglichkeit, einen Fernauslöser anzuschließen. Ich konnte mir zu dem Zeitpunkt wieder vorstellen, dass ich mit einer Rollstuhl-Kamera fotografieren könnte. Kees Meinardi hat die erste Version einer Vorrichtung für die Kamera für meinen Rollstuhl gebaut.

Wie funktioniert es?
Indem ich meine rechte Schulter bewege, drückt mein Arm gegen einen Hebel, der die Bewegung verstärkt und so den Auslöser betätigt. Wenn ich meinen kinngesteuerten Rollstuhl in Position bringe, kann ich die Kamera ausrichten. Diese Konstruktion verschaffte mir gerade mal genug Möglichkeiten, um wieder mit dem Fotografieren zu beginnen.

Hier finden Sie Fotos, die ich damals gemacht habe:
Http://www.laesieworks.com/fotografie/index.html

Hier einige Möglichkeiten, die mir eine Kamera bieten muss:
+ Einen Fernauslöser, den ich durch Druck meines Armes (ausgelöst durch Bewegung meiner Schulter) bedienen kann
+ Ein Display, das sich zu mir hin bewegen lässt
+ RAW-Dateien (besonders wichtig, weil ich nicht sehr exakt fotografieren kann)

Meine zweite und neueste Konstruktion für die Rollstuhl-Kamera ist ein großer Fortschritt, Rob Liefting hat sie 2015 gebaut. Ich kann die Kamera jetzt nach oben, unten, links und rechts bewegen. Meine zweite Kamera ist die Lumix GH2 (2010), mit der ich auch hochwertige Filmaufnahmen machen kann!

Die nächste Version Rollstuhl-Kamera, über die ich nachdenke, sollte einen Kamera-Stabilisator, wie sie bei großen Multicoptern verwendet werden, haben.

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Es ist Dezember 1995, ich bin 26 Jahre alt und sitze als Passagier in einem Kleinbus ... Der gemietete Bus war in einem schlechten Zustand, die Straße auch, das Wetter war schlecht und der Fahrer hatte nicht lang genug geschlafen... seit diesem Zeitpunkt bin ich fast völlig gelähmt - eine hohe Querschnittslähmung C3/4. Ich kann nur meinen Kopf bewegen und habe etwa 1/4 an Lungenkapazität. Ich habe eine Webseite gebaut, ohne meine Hände zu benutzen, nur mit Kopfbewegungen, mit sehr vielen Kopfbewegungen … www.laesieworks.com

Like solution
Close de
Close

This solution has been translated to Chinese. Check it here.
  • 1233
  • 0

Wheelchair camera set up. How to shoot photos & videos, while being almost completely paralyzed

Shared by Giesbert Nijhuis on 2017-03-21 15:35

About the solution

Just a couple of years after finishing four years of photography school, the accident happened (december 1995). Leaving me with a very high spinal cord injury. I can only move my head, and a bit of my shoulders. Is it still possible to be a photographer? That was one of many questions. First reaction was "of course not", because I could not hold and control the camera with my hands. But that is just the tip of the iceberg, as photography is about way more than having a camera and pusing its buttons. Most of the things that come with photography have become impossible for me, as my options, time and energy are very limited & unpredictable.
But instead of looking at what is not possible, it is better to look at what is possible!

First anolog years
About two years after the In the accident (1998), I had learning how to work with photoshop, with just headmovents. And made some nice portraits with the help of Peep Papa. But directing someone with analog technology proved to be very frustrating, which made me quit it.

First digital years
In the beginning of 2006 new options arose because of the shift to digital photography. My first digital camera was the Sony DSC-R1, the only practical photo camera for me at that time: good image quality, a life view LCD monitor that could face towards my point of view, and the option to connect a remote control. I could then imagine a wheelchair camera set up that would work for me. Kees Meinardi has build the first version.

How does it work?
By moving my right shoulder, my arm slides against a force amplifying lever, that presses on the button of a remote control. By driving my chin controlled wheelchair around, I can point the camera. This construction gave me just enough control to take pictures again.

Check out the photos I made this way:
http://www.laesieworks.com/fotografie/index.html

These are some of the things I need in a camera:
+ A remote controle that I can push by sliding my arm, with my shoulder.
+ A display that can turn towards my eyes.
+ RAW files (extra important because I can not expose that precise)
+ Continues life view, which is present in mirrorless cameras.

My second/latest version wheelchair camera set up, is a big improvement, as the camera can now move: up, down, left, right. It is build by Rob Liefting in 2015. The second camera that worked for me, was the Lumix GH2 (2010), which can also shoot high quality movies!

The next version wheelchair camera I am thinking of, should have a camera stabilizer, as are being used under large mulicopters. And I search for a practical solution to get control over: focus, exposure, and zoom. Some cameras can be remote controlled by a smartphone. But I don't have control over a smartphone... Not yet.

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

December 1995, at the age of 26, as a passenger in a small bus… The rented bus was of poor quality, the road was of bad design, the weather was not good, and the driver did not sleep long enough. Since then I am almost completely paralyzed. A high spinal cord injury C3/4. I can only move my head, and have about 1/4 long power. I made a website without using my hands, only using head movements, with lots on it: www.laesieworks.com

Like solution
Close en
Close