• 1492
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Enkel baut Roboter, der seinem Grossvater hilft, sich selbstständig mit Essen zu versorgen

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2017-01-19 15:08

About the solution

Obi ist ein aus Kunststoff gefertigter Roboterarm, der vom Betreuer erst vorprogrammiert wird - und dann übernimmt er die Verantwortung für die Nahrungsversorgung des Patienten.

Der Arm wählt abgemessene Portionen Essen aus einem von vier Fächern eines Tellers. Es gibt weit über 1000 mögliche Positionen des Löffels, von dem dann gegessen werden kann.

Obi ist leicht genug zum Herumtragen und hat eine wiederaufladbare Batterie, die das Gerät etwa vier Stunden lang funktionieren lässt. Im Durchschnitt kann man das Gerät ohne zwischenzeitliches Aufladen für vier bis sechs Mahlzeiten verwenden.

"Wir wissen, dass Essen eine der größten Freuden im Leben ist. Das sollte man genießen können. Obi macht diesen Genuss möglich. Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass ein Leben mit körperlichen Einschränkungen erfüllend und inspirierend sein kann. Technologie und speziell Robotertechnik, kombiniert mit modernem Design, sollte das möglich machen", so der Erfinder.

2010 gründeten Jon und sein Vater Tom die Firma DESῙN. Sie arbeiteten an der Weiterentwicklung von Obi, um die Technologie für Menschen weltweit zugänglich zu machen.

“Es war eine unglaubliche Reise, um von meinem Studentenwohnheim-Prototyp zu einem Obi zu kommen, der für den Verkauf geeignet war. Während dieser Reise habe ich viele tolle Menschen kennengelernt, die sich unglaublichen Herausforderungen mit Anmut und Stärke stellen. Es ist eine Ehre und ein Privileg, in der Lage zu sein, ihnen zu helfen und etwas so Grundlegendes wie ein Essen zusammen mit Freunden und Familie wieder möglich zu machen", erklärt Jon.

Obi ist online erhältlich und kostet 4.500 Dollar.

Auszug aus: http://prn.to/29R3jGF

Mehr Informationen: https://meetobi.com
https://youtu.be/x_lrNuZlin4

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Der Amerikaner Jon Dekar war noch Ingenieurstudent, als er 2006 den ersten Prototyp von Obi baute. Obi ist ein Roboter, der Menschen mit körperlichen Behinderungen hilft, sich selbstständig mit Essen versorgen zu können. Sowohl Jons alternder Großvater als auch ein junges Mädchen mit AMC haben ihn dabei inspiriert.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 949
  • 0

Man creates device to help grandfather feed himself

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2017-01-19 15:08

About the solution

The robot, made of BPA plastics, works by having an arm which feeds the person. But first, the caregiver has to teach the robot the delivery location, and then it will take charge.

The arm selects virtually any properly sized food from one of four compartments. Then it delivers the food to one of several thousand potential locations where the diner can eat from the spoon.

Obi has a rechargeable battery which can work for about four hours, and can be carried around easily. On average, the device can serve from four to six meals without having to be recharged.

“We believe dining is one of life’s greatest pleasures that absolutely everyone should enjoy. What our device stands for is equally as important as what it does. It represents our belief that living with physical challenges can be fulfilling and inspiring. Technology, and specifically robotics, combined with modern design, should facilitate that”, the inventor explained.

In 2010 Jon and his father Tom founded their company - DESῙN – and they have been improving Obi so that it can be of assistance to more people globally.

“This has been an incredible journey to go from my dorm room prototype to having Obi units manufactured and ready to sell. During this journey, I’ve met so many amazing people who face incredible challenges with grace and strength. It’s an honor and privilege to be able to help them reclaim something as fundamental as eating a meal together with friends and family”, Jon stated.

Obi can be bought online, costing $4,500.

Adapted from: http://prn.to/29R3jGF
https://youtu.be/x_lrNuZlin4

More info: https://meetobi.com

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Jon Dekar, from USA, was an engineering student when he built the first prototype of Obi, in 2006, a robotic device designed to help people with physical disabilities feed themselves. Jon was inspired by his aging grandfather and by a young girl he met, who suffered from Arthrogryposis.

Like solution
Close en
Close