• 1672
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Patienten schafft der angeschlossene Katheter

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2015-11-30 14:24

About the solution

Derek ist ein ehemaliger Marine, der in den Rücken geschossen wurde, im Jahr 2012, von einem Scharfschützen Taliban. Die Wunde gelassen Herrera eine querschnittsgelähmt.

Die Connected-Katheter ist eine technologische Lösung für Patienten mit neurogenen Blasen. Die Lösung ist ein semi-permanent, minimal-invasive, "smart Kathetersystem", Blasendruck mißt und drahtlos Daten an ein Smartphone, erlaubt dem Benutzer, ein Ventil zu steuern, um das Urin aus der Blase zu entleeren, eliminiert die Notwendigkeit für einen intermittierenden Kathetern und Drainagebeutel, eingesetzt werden kann / um in wenigen Minuten die Benutzer (oder Arzt) entfernt und ist vollständig im Körper eingeschlossen, um das Risiko einer Infektion zu verringern.

"Ich wusste, dass mein Leben ändern würde, aber ich wusste nicht, dass die Verwaltung meiner Blase wäre die schwierigste Aufgabe, die ich auf einer täglichen Basis konfrontiert werden. Als Einzel leben jeden Tag mit Lähmungen von Rückenmarksverletzungen resultierenden, ich verstehe, wie schrecklich die aktuellen Standardtherapie kann zur Verwaltung neurogene Blase "zu sein, erklärte der ehemalige Marine.

"Obwohl das Verbunden-Katheter ™ nutzt einige sehr innovative und fortschrittliche Technologien, hat unser Team ein Problem ersten Ansatz zur Lösung dieses Problems genommen und versuchen, zwei primäre Ziele zu erreichen:
Sagen Sie mir, wenn meine Blase voll ist
Lassen Sie mich entleeren ohne eingelegte Katheter in meinem Körper 5-10x pro Tag ", sagte Derek.

Nach dem Verlassen der Marines, eingeschrieben Herrera in Executive-MBA-Programm der UCLA an der Anderson School of Management, die er aus im Sommer 2015. Gegen Ende seiner Eintragung absolvierte, war er Mitbegründer Spinal Singularity, eine medizinische Anlauf mit Schwerpunkt auf potenziell bahnbrech Rückengesundheitsforschung.

Der ehemalige Marine gemeinsam mit Ingenieuren und Klinikern, um dieses Produkt zu entwickeln.

Herrera startete eine IndieGoGo Crowdfunding-Kampagne für Spinal Singularity, die das Ziel von $ 50.000 in Beiträgen am Oktober erreichte 27. Fundraising durch diese Kampagne hat es dem Unternehmen ermöglicht schnelle Fortschritte zu machen.

"Das Geld aus dieser Spendenaktion wird uns dabei helfen, einen Prototypen und testen Sie das Gerät", sagte Herrera. "Es ist wichtig, aber es erlaubt uns nicht nur auf unseren Händen sitzen für ein Jahr Fundraising und warten auf Stipendien und Forschungsgelder."

Mehr Infos: http://www.derekherrera.com/

Https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-connected-catheter-by-spinal-singularity#/: Adaptiert
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=61&v=KhKBgcHnlpk

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Derek Herrera, aus den USA, leidet unter neurogene Blase. Er schuf eine intelligente cathether "The Connected Catheter" ihm zu helfen, mit diesem Zustand umzugehen.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 1487
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Patient creates The Connected Catheter

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2015-11-30 14:24

About the solution

Derek is a former US Marine who got shot in the back, in 2012, by a Taliban sniper. The wound left Herrera a paraplegic.

The Connected Catheter is a technological solution for patients with neurogenic bladder. The solution is a semi-permanent, minimally-invasive, “smart catheter” system that measures bladder pressure and wirelessly transmits data to a smartphone, allows the user to control a valve to empty the urine from the bladder, eliminates the need for intermittent catheters and drainage bags, can be inserted/removed by the user (or clinician) in minutes, and is fully encapsulated in the body to reduce the risk of infection.

“I knew my life would change, but I didn't know that managing my bladder would be the most challenging task I faced on a daily basis. As a individual living each day with paralysis resulting from spinal cord injury, I understand just how terrible the current standard of care can be for managing Neurogenic Bladder”, the former marine explained.

“Although the Connected Catheter™ utilizes some highly innovative and advanced technologies, our team has taken a problem first approach to solving this issue and are trying to accomplish two primary objectives:
Tell me when my bladder is full;
Let me empty it without inserting catheters into my body 5-10 times per day”, Derek said.

After leaving the Marines, Herrera enrolled in UCLA's executive MBA program at the Anderson School of Management, which he graduated from in the summer of 2015. Towards the end of his enrollment, he co-founded Spinal Singularity, a medical startup focusing on potentially groundbreaking spinal health research.

The former marine teamed up with engineers and clinicians to develop this product.

Herrera launched an IndieGoGo crowdfunding campaign for Spinal Singularity which reached its goal of $50,000 in contributions on October 27. Fundraising through this campaign has allowed the company to make quick strides.

"The money from this fundraiser will help us build a prototype and test the device," Herrera said. "It's critical, but it allows us to not just sit on our hands for a year fundraising and waiting for grants and research money."

More info: http://www.derekherrera.com/

Adapted from: http://bit.ly/1PkvGue
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=61&v=KhKBgcHnlpk

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Derek Herrera, born in 1984, from USA, suffers from Neurogenic Bladder. He created a smart cathether “The Connected Catheter” to help him deal with this condition.

Like solution
Close en
Close