• 2970
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4

Campus-Karte für Sehbehinderte

Shared by AnaIsabel on 2016-08-11 01:20

About the solution

Als Baby verlor Kaitlyn die Sehkraft ihres linken Auges, seit 2014 kann sie auch mit dem rechten Auge nicht mehr sehen und ist komplett blind. Um unabhängiger zu werden, schloss sie sich mit Tyler zusammen. Er studierte Ingenieurwissenschaften und kam während einer Vorlesung über 3D Druck auf eine Lösung für das Problem.

Seitdem sie sich zu einem Team zusammen schlossen, hat Kaitlyn ihre Erfahrung geteilt, Lösungen getestet und Feedback darüber gegeben, wie die Campus-Karte designed werden sollte. Laut der Studentin, hat sie durch das Projekt mehr Freiheit erlangt und die Art und Weise, wie sie sich in der Uni zurechtfindet, hat sich vollkommen geändert.

“Mit dem Verlust meiner Sehkraft habe ich gleichzeitig die Fähigkeit verloren, mich anhand von Karten zurechtzufinden”, sagt sie. “Es ist toll, diese Fähigkeit wieder zu besitzen”, fügt sie hinzu.

Tyler entwarf die 3D Campus-Karte mit SolidWorks Software und druckte eine Reihe von Prototypen an dem universitätseigenen 3D Drucker. “Für den Haupt-Campus hatte ich auf einem Bildschirm ein Bild der Karte als Vorlage, auf einem anderen Bildschirm öffnete ich SolidWorks und bildete alle Gebäude graphisch ab. Viele Leute hatten davon gehört und erzählten mir, wie ich es besser machen könnte. Jetzt mache ich einfach ein Screenshot der Karte, lade diesen in SolidWorks hoch und zeichne die Gebäude nach”, beschreibt der Student.

Die Karten wurden mit PLA gedruckt und sind nur ¼ Inch dick, sodass sie problemlos mitgetragen werden können. Um der Größe des Campus gerecht zu werden, hat Tyler die gesamte Karte in verschiedene Abschnitte eingeteilt, jeder 5x9 Inches groß. Diese können einfach miteinander verbunden werden. Das Drucken eines Bereichs dauert jeweils ca. 10 Stunden, aber die Ergebnisse sind es wert: “Das erste Mal als sie sie hielt, hat sie gekreischt”, erzählt er über seine Kommilitonin. “Es war unglaublich, zu sehen, wie die Idee in etwas umgesetzt wurde, was wirklich helfen könnte.”

Das Team entwickelt und verbessert das Produkt noch immer und Tyler hat angefangen, 3D Karten für andere Universitäten zu erstellen.

Entnommen von: http://bit.ly/2b7GeAP

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Kaitlyn Kellermeyer kommt aus den USA und ist eine blinde Studentin an der Texas A&M University. Mit der Hilfe ihres Freundes Tyler Wooten entwarf sie eine 3D gedruckte, taktile Karte, die mit Braille-Blindenschrift geprägt ist, um blinden und sehbehinderten Studenten zu helfen, den Campus besser zu verstehen und sich besser zurechtzufinden.

Comments (4)

  • Thomas Brown Fri, 07/06/2018 - 12:11

    Das ist eine großartige Beschreibung Ihres Prozesses und etwas, das wir alle durchmachen. Ich denke, wir fangen an, so intensiv auf die Arbeit zu polarisieren, dass wir wirklich blind werden. Ich drehe meine Bilder auf den Kopf, wenn ich einen unzufriedenen inneren Dialog beginne, und verwechsle mein Gehirn damit, dass es etwas völlig anderes sieht. Es funktioniert die meiste Zeit!
    Besuchen Sie: https: //rospher.com/

  • Arun Kumar Fri, 09/07/2018 - 08:44

    Ich bin hier für das Teilen dieses Updates gibt es die vielen Funktionen, um die Daten zu speichern, so finden <a href="https://rememberpasswordsinmicrosoftedge.net"> wo Passwörter in Microsoft Edge gespeichert sind </a> und Zugriff auf das Hauptmenü des Datei-Explorers nach Typ der Name.

  • Jackson Kevin Thu, 09/13/2018 - 12:13

    Soweit ich das beurteilen kann, muss man ihnen Bücher vorschlagen, die ab und zu zu der Klasse passen, die sie in verschiedenen Medien mögen, und das Buch sollte sie von Anfang an interessieren. Nicht sehr viele meiner Begleiter lesen. <a href="https://www.freshessays.co.uk/"> Cheap Essay Hilfe </a> Ich habe einigen meiner geliebten Bücher einen Teil verschrieben. Sie werden mehrere Abschnitte lesen und danach ablegen. Zu dem Zeitpunkt, als nach dem Grund gefragt wurde, war die bekannteste Antwort, dass sie es vorzogen, wo die Geschichte lief, aber im Allgemeinen nicht genug daran dachte.

  • elizebit Tue, 06/18/2019 - 14:13

    Schreibe meine Aufgabe in die Zuweisungsuhr

    <a href="http://www.google.assignment.co.uk/"> Seo Guru </a>

    [url = "http://www.google.uk/"] Funter [/ url]

    [url = http: //www.google.com/] 7 Up [/ url] s

    [http://www.assignmentjob.co.uk Zuweisungshilfe Deutschland]

    [Google] (https://www.google.com)

    "Guru": http: //www.google.assignment.co.uk/

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 3187
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

Blind girl creates campus map for the visually impaired

Shared by AnaIsabel on 2016-08-11 01:20

About the solution

Kaitlyn lost eyesight in her left eye as a baby and, in 2014, she lost eyesight in her right eye as well, leaving her completely blind. Because she wants to be more independent, she teamed up with Tyler, and engineering student who had the ideia for this solution while taking a 3D printing course in 2015.

Since they’ve teamed up, Kaitlyn has given insight, tested, and provided feedback about how the maps should be designed and feel. According to the the student, the project has given her more freedom and has made all the difference in helping her to navigate around her university.

“When I lost my sight, I lost the ability to use a map,” she said. “This has been awesome for me to have that ability again”, the girl said.

Tyler designed the 3D campus map using SolidWorks software and 3D printed a number of prototypes using the university’s in-house 3D printers. “For main campus, I had a picture of the map up on one screen, and I had SolidWorks open on my other screen and I was just eyeballing it, drawing all of the buildings. Enough people had heard about it that they taught me how to do it better. Now I can take a screenshot of the map, put it in SolidWorks and just trace the buildings”, the engineering student expressed.

The maps were printed using PLA and are only 1/4 of an inch thick, making them easy to carry around. To account for the size of the campus, Tyler has separated the whole map into different sections, each measuring 5 x 9inches, which can be easily assembled by sliding them together. Each takes about ten hours to print. But results are positive: “She shrieked the first time she held it,” he said of his fellow. “It was awesome to see it transform from an idea to something that could actually help.”

The team is still developing and improving the product, and Tyler is starting to design these 3D printed maps for other campuses.

Adapted from: http://bit.ly/2b7GeAP

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

Kaitlyn Kellermeyer, from USA, is a blind student at Texas A&M University who is creating, with the help of her friend Tyler Wooten, a 3D printed tactile map embossed with braille to help blind and visually impaired students to better understand the university campus and navigate through it more easily.

Comments (5)

  • Thomas Brown Fri, 07/06/2018 - 12:11

    This is such a great description of your process, and something we all go through. I think we start to polarize so intensely on the work, that we really do start to become blind to it. I turn my paintings upside down when I start a dissatisfied inner dialogue, and confuse my brain into thinking it's seeing something completely different. It works most of the time !
    Visit:https://rospher.com/

  • Arun Kumar Fri, 09/07/2018 - 08:44

    I am here for the share this update there are the many function to save the data so find to where are saved passwords in microsoft edge and access the main menu of file explorer by type he name.

  • Jackson Kevin Thu, 09/13/2018 - 12:13

    As far as I can tell, you have to suggest them books which as of now kind of fit the class they like in various mediums and the book ought to have them interested from the very get go. Not very many of my companions read. Cheap Essay Help I have prescribed a portion of my most loved books to a couple of them. They will read several sections and after that put it down. At the point when inquired as to why, the most well-known answer was that they preferred where the story was going however didn't generally mind enough to experience it.

  • elizebit Tue, 06/18/2019 - 14:13

    Write My Assignment in Assignment Clock

    Seo Guru

    [url="http://www.google.uk/"]Funter[/url]

    [url=http://www.google.com/]7 Up[/url]s

    [http://www.assignmentjob.co.uk Assignment help Uk]

    [Google](https://www.google.com)

    "Guru":http://www.google.assignment.co.uk/

  • ErinBruning Sun, 09/29/2019 - 11:54

    The projects by you is amazing and i am really impressed with it. The beauty of your work lies within your hard work. Thank's for posting them. The projects are real good.

Like solution
Close en
Close