• 1406
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

3D gedruckte Partitur für Blinde

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2016-04-04 18:46

About the solution

Gerade in sehr komplexen Partituren fehlt in Brailleschrift (Blindenschrift) häufig Information, die auf traditionellen Notenblättern zu finden ist. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, entwickelte Kim ein System, um wesentliche Zeichen und Noten auf Notenblättern hervorzuheben und der Notenschrift so einen taktilen Charakter zu geben, sodass diese gleichzeitig durch tasten und visuell von sehbehinderte und von sehenden Musikern gelesen werden kann.

Als William von diesem System erfuhr, erkannte er, dass 3D Druck eine ideale Lösung für die Produktion solcher Notenschriften darstellen würde. Sie schlossen sich zu einem Team zusammen und entworfen Notenblätter, die durch Tasten gelesen werden können.

“Kim war an der Idee und an einer Zusammenarbeit sehr interessiert,” erzählt der Student. “Dabei geht es nicht darum einen Prototyp nur für sie oder die School of Music herzustellen. Es ist eine echte Kooperation, in der wir eng mit Kim zusammenarbeiten, um ihre Designwünsche zu verstehen und eine Lösung zu finden.”

Die 3D-Druck-Technologie produziert Notenblätter, auf denen die Komplexität und die Details einzelner Musikstücke präziser erfasst werden.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.madisongroup.com/our-team-william.html

Entnommen von: http://bit.ly/2nBuqJC

Was ist mit Ihnen, haben Sie irgendwelche Lösungen? Bitte teilen Sie sie mit dem Patienten Innovation Community!

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

William Aquite, geboren in den USA, ist ein Master Student des Maschinenbaus an der University of Wisconsin. Er druckte Partituren für Blinde auf einem 3D Drucker. William startete mit der Arbeit zu diesem Projekt nachdem er das Video der blinden Musikerin Yeaij Kim sah, die ein PhD Programm an der School of Music absolvierte. Als Pianistin hat Kim bemerkt, dass insbesondere komplexe Stücke nur schwer in Brailleschrift übersetzt werden können.

Like solution
Close de
Close

• 1407
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

3D printing music scores for the blind

Shared by Ana Duarte on 2016-04-04 18:46

About the solution

The scores are highly complex and yet can still lack some information traditionally included on sheet music. To cope with this, Kim invented a system that essentially raises the type on top of the staff and notes on regular sheet music, giving the musical notation a tactile quality that a visually impaired musician could read by touch and a sighted person could also read visually.

When William heard about this, he realized that 3D printing would be the ideal solution to produce the scores. They teamed up and created sheets of music that can be read using hands.

“Kim was interested in the idea and definitely excited about collaborating,” the student explained. “This isn't just building a prototype for her or the School of Music. It's a true collaboration in that we're working closely with Kim to understand her design needs and to find solutions together”.

The 3D printing technology creates sheets of music more which accurately capture the complexity and details of certain pieces of music.

More info: http://www.madisongroup.com/our-team-william.html

Adapted from: http://bit.ly/2nBuqJC

What about you, do you have any solutions? Please share them with the Patient Innovation community!

This solution shall not include mention to the use of drugs, chemicals or biologicals (including food); invasive devices; offensive, commercial or inherently dangerous content. This solution was not medically validated. Proceed with caution! If you have any doubts, please consult with a health professional.

About the author

William Aquite, born in USA, is a mechanical engineering graduate student from the University of Wisconsin who 3D printed music scores for the blind. William started working on this project after he saw a video of a blind musician called Yeaji Kim, who was completing a PhD in the School of Music. Kim is a pianist, and she has found that particularly complex pieces are almost impossible to transfer to braille scores.

Like solution
Close en
Close